Home Page

School Curriculum

The School's Curriculum is as follows:

Picture 1

The School's Curriculum

The school provides the range of subjects required for children in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and Key Stages 1 and 2. The EYFS is followed by children until the end of their Reception Year. Key Stage 1 covers Years 1 and 2 whilst Key Stage 2 is for children in Years 3 to 6. For all stages, the school follows national guidance provided by the government, which at present is the National Curriculum for England 2014.


The core subjects of English, Mathematics and Science are complemented by the foundation subjects of Art, Computing, Design and Technology, Geography, History, Modern foreign languages, Music, PSHE, British Values, SMSC, Religious Education and Physical Education.


Religious Education is taught in accordance with the RE Agreed Syllabus for Bedford Borough, Central Bedfordshire and Luton 2012–2017.


To support the delivery of the curriculum the school uses Chris Quigley’s Essentials. Essentials is designed to enhance the school’s curriculum by looking at all the essential skills that children need, in each subject, to develop across each stage of their learning. The essential skills are divided up into milestones which are linked to year groups. Milestone 1 – Years 1&2, Milestone 2 – Years 3&4 and Milestone 3 – Years 5&6.


For further information do go back to the signpost and click on ‘About Us’, followed by ‘Curriculum’ where you will find all the curriculum subjects and associated information.